top of page

Breakfast/Energy Bites

These have been my go-to breakfast for the last couple weeks because I need something quick to grab in the mornings that I can eat on my way to work, and, I need something that will keep me full until lunch time. These bad boys do the trick! They are also great to have on hand for a snack. Thanks to my boyfriend's mom for this amazing recipe!

These are so healthy and the original recipe came from Dr. Oz. I love that they are nutrient packed, and you can make a big batch and keep them in the refrigerator.

Ingredients:

1 jar of almond butter

2 teaspoons of cinnamon

2 teaspoons of nutmeg

3/4 cup of raw honey

1 Tbs of maple syrup (helps them stick together- can omit but the bites will be crumbly)

2 teaspoons of vanilla extract

4 pinches of salt

1 cup of rolled oats

1/2 cup of whey protein powder (optional- I like it because it helps keep me full)

4 tablespoons of Chia seeds

1/2 cup of dried cherries

2 cups of coconut flakes

2 cups of chopped nuts (I prefer pecans)

Directions:

Prepare a baking sheet with wax paper or parchment paper.

Put all ingredients into a big mixing bowl. Mix by hand until it forms a dough. Add more maple syrup if needed to make the dough sticky/wet to hold its shape.

Roll to form balls, about 1 inch in diameter, and place them on the baking sheet. Refrigerate for an hour, or until they are firm.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page